Untitled‎ > ‎Headteacher's Column‎ > ‎

School Eisteddfod 2013

posted 17 Jul 2013, 17:27 by Unknown user   [ updated 17 Jul 2013, 17:30 ]
The School Eisteddfod was held in the Coliseum, Aberdare on 12 July, with the competition as fierce as ever! The adjudicators this year were Llinos Williams (Music), Bethan Jones-Arthur (Recitation and Drama) and Alison Roberts (Dance). There was much laughter and cheering to be heard as the three houses Rhigos, Maerdy and Y Bannau fought for points.

Morgan Powell won the Chair. He was highly praised for the standard of his work by the adjudicator Miss Sioned Jones. In a special ceremony he was presented with a small chair and he was also invited to sit in a very special chair, one which was given to the school by Mr Leslie Davies, one of our Governors. Morgan also won the English Prize - an excellent achievement!

The John Llywelyn Jones Memorial Prize was presented to Kameron Harrhy from Year 13. This trophy is presented every year to a pupil who has contributed to the Welsh ethos of the school and extra curricular activities.
Kameron is a talented pupil who has contributed greatly in many areas during his career at Rhydywaun. A deserving winner! Ceinwen Tricker from Year 12 won the Blue Riband competition.

The House Choir competition was the highlight of the afternoon's competitions. Everyone enjoyed three lively and tuneful performances of the set piece ‘Mae Ddoe Wedi Mynd’. The adjudicator for the second year running placed Y Bannau in first place. Following the competition the pupils were treated to a special performance of the choir set piece by the school staff - who nearly raised the roof of the Coliseum! 

As usual the final result was very close! Maerdy were the winners of the Eisteddfod trophy for this year, with Rhigos a close second and Y Bannau third.

A huge thanks go to the Heads of House Mr Glyn Wise, Miss Carys Comley and Mr John Manuel, and to the Sixth Form pupils for their hard work. Thanks also go to everyone who helped with the competitions. A day to remember yet again!